Mayor DuBois Meets Congressman West

~  ~  ~

A couple of weeks ago, while reading Congressman Allen West’s weekly wrap up from August 18th I discovered that both the Lake Worth Mayor and our Mayor, James DuBois, met with Congressman West in mid-August. I was curious as to what the meeting entailed and asked the mayor if he would provide me a summary. His response by email about the meeting is as follows:

The meeting was a short introductory session where we talked about two federal grant applications that the town was working to secure. The Congressman was happy to offer a letter supporting our grants proposals. We talked a little bit about the Army Reserve Center coming to Congress Avenue and what that might mean for recruitment opportunities to our town and our neighboring towns’ young men and women.

I described the town’s history as an Olmsted Brothers’ planned community with a small amount of acreage but diverse land uses and equally diverse cultural demographics. Congressman West admired the Mirror Ballroom and asked if it is within the 22nd district would it be available as a Town Hall Meeting venue?

After looking closely at the district lines I wrote a letter to Congressman West thanking him for taking the time to visit us. I let him know that the Mirror Ballroom was not in the district, but we would be happy to host a Town Hall Meeting at the Marina on the lawn, in the meeting room, or at the Kelsey Park Pavillion. (My preference would be for the Marina on the lawn where we hold the sunset gatherings).

After reading this, I asked the mayor what the two federal grant applications are for that the town is seeking to secure, because I had not heard about them prior to this. His answer was as follows:

The grants applications we spoke about were for the library, Institute of Museum and Library Services, and an Environmental Protection Agency grant for the marina.

Mayor DuBois was kind enough to respond to my request for information, and I appreciate his willingness to correspond with me and answer my questions. I thought our readers might be interested in hearing about the grants being pursued and the possibility of Congressman Allen West holding a town hall meeting in Lake Park. Since Congressman West has shown an interest in holding one of these events in our town, hopefully this opportunity will be pursued by the town leadership. The town hall forum would provide citizens some much appreciated access to one of our legislators right here at home while also giving Lake Park a chance to shine.

If you have questions or concerns about what is happening in our town or your district, you can call or email your Town Commissioners or your Legislators.

